How to STAND OUT during an internship 

Congratulations! You’ve secured yourself an internship.

When I landed myself my first PR internship I was over the moon!

Well, to be honest I still am. I absolutely love it! I am at week 8 of my internship and there’s a few things I have learnt along the way.

There is only so much you can learn in a classroom. Internships should be an essential part of every degree. Maybe I am just lucky, but the place I have been interning have provided me with an incredible amount of support, knowledge and real industry experience.

However…

Throughout the past 8 weeks there have been a few key things I have learnt to do that really make you stand out.

No matter how long you are with a company… 2 weeks to 3 months there is always opportunity for you to cement yourself as an asset to the company.

intern 2

So here are my 10 best tips to stand out:

  1. Ask questions
    You will be surprised at how much people are willing to help ‘the intern’
    It is always good to clarify your task list and make sure you are on the right track – after all they don’t want you to sit at a desk for 6 weeks doing nothing because you never asked questions…
  2. Dress to impress
    This is not hard. A smart shirt, a nice pair of parts/skirt and some smart clean shoes are all you need. Minimal makeup and brushed hair goes along way! If you are ever asked to attend client meetings you need to look presentable!
  3. Ask for feedback
    It is always good to know where you are at. This gives you the opportunity to work on your weaknesses.
  4. Take an interest in their clients/customers
    Understand their products and their audience. Immerse yourself with their mission – this will come in handy when working on campaigns
  5. Get to know the staff/team you work with
    Be willing to get to know the people in your office, you never know, one day you could be working along side them! A friendly hello and goodbye in the office goes a long way!
  6. Come on time and come prepared
    Arrive on time and always carry a notepad and pen!
  7. Set goals along the way
    What do you want out of your internship? Ask yourself, why am I doing this and what benefits am I getting? This is crucial. Make sure your goals are achieved. Even if they are simple. Mine was to gain some practical day to day\ experience in an agency, what I discovered was much more than this! I loved it!
  8. Make a professional network.
    Add people on Linked In – their references may come in handy one day
  9. Put yourself out there
    Say ‘yes’ ! Don’t be afraid to learn as much as you can! Think of the bigger picture in life! Do what you can for your career NOW
  10. Positive attitude
    The best interns are the ones who are the happiest!

 

Stay tuned for more tips and advice soon.

Next I will be discussing interview hints!

 

G.

 

6 Replies to “How to STAND OUT during an internship ”

Leave a Reply

