What I was surprised about learning in my new full-time job…

November is here and for the last week or so I have been M.I.A

However, please forgive me because there is a pretty good reason for this – I have a new job in a PR agency!

I was lucky enough to get this job through an internship I completed  (read my tips on how to be a fabulous intern here)

This post is going to be about – what I have learnt in my first weeks of full time work.

Most of which, have nothing to do with my job at all – which is probably why I found them so interesting to post about!

  1. YOU NEED TO EXERCISE.
    In my old retail job I was on my feet all day. I used to think how lucky people who work in an office are! Oh how wrong I was!! After my first 2 weeks I became exhautsed easily. I was tired. I felt like I needed to get out of the house, but I had no energy after work! All of this was from sitting down all day!!!! I had no idea how important it was to exercise and move around when you sit at a desk all day. I now make sure that during the day I get up and walk around as much as I can! Always make time to stretch! Your back will thank you for it!

    giphy-3

  2. ITS OK TO SPEND A NIGHT IN
    Sometimes I think the best thing you can do for your health is have a relaxing night in. Do not make plans for every weekend just be happy spending some ‘me’ time. It allows you to be in the best mindset for a productive week!
  3. PREPARE YOUR FOOD
    This is mainly to do with the cost of buying lunch and looking after your health. If I paid for my lunch every day at work I would possibly spend between $10-$15 a day. Imagine that amount over a week, a month, a year! CRAZY! The cheapest way to eat lunch at work is to prepare it at home. However, it is also so important for your own  health to make sure you are eating nutritious meals throughout the day. After all, how can you expect to put your best foot forward at work if you are fuelling yourself with foods high in sodium, sugar and fats! Preparing  your lunch at home will make sure you are on the right track to getting all the nutrients your body is craving.

giphy-2

I hope you all found this insightful!

 

G.

One Reply to “What I was surprised about learning in my new full-time job…”

Leave a Reply

