Why I GENUINELY enjoy my early morning commute

When I tell people how far I travel for work they are usually pretty shocked.

And you know what.. I don’t get it.

Just for a bit of context I catch the train/tram to work most days (sometimes I drive) and it takes approximately between 1 – 1.5 hours.

HOWEVER, I cannot begin to tell you how productive this time can be.

For example, I’m actually writing this post on my train right now.

On the way to work I will check emails, read the news, listen to radio, journal AND complete a full face of makeup (if I’m running late).

This usually happens all before 8am.

I’ve already found my client relevant news for the day, I’ve found potential opportunities for future clients and I’ve smashed my first coffee for the day LONG BEFORE some people are out of bed.

Sometimes the job you love isn’t in the right place – but in the grand scheme of life, you need to consider how you can make that situation work for you.

(deep thoughts I know)

One of my favourite blogs Life Hack posted a few weeks ago on 10 Things Healthy People Do Before Going To Work Every Day.

I love the time I spend on my morning commute.

So here is my take on the top 3 things you should do BEFORE you walk in the office.

  1. EAT BREAKFAST – This is my single biggest tip. I wrote a post on the things I learnt when transitioning into full-time work and making sure you eat breakfast and have a nutritious lunch was one of them – read that post here! Eating breakfast will set you up for your whole day. You need to fuel your body with the right foods in order to reach your potential.
  2. MAKE TIME TO SCHEDULE YOUR TO DO LIST – A productive day starts with a well clear to do list. Complete with tasks, time allocations and deadlines. Make time in your morning to get this done. You will be surprised at how clear your mind will become once this is written down.
  3. WAKE UP 20 MINS EARLY – Just try it, I dare you. If you are like me and sometimes getting out of bed is a struggle, challenge yourself and you will be surprised what you can achieve with these extra minutes. Use them to meditate, exercise or even simply stretch!

If you have any other tips for your morning commute I would love to hear them below.

Comment below or contact me here

 

G.

4 Replies to “Why I GENUINELY enjoy my early morning commute”

  1. I am definitely not a morning person, but it does feel good to be up earlier than I need to be so that I’m not rushing, and to have a full stomach before the workday begins. I tend to have a very last-minute-changes schedule–do you think having a written out to-do list would still be good? I feel it would just stress me out when I have to juggle everything! Great post.

    Like

    1. Oh trust me – I still love my weekend sleep ins! But when I am up early I am less flustered and I love breakfast! To-do lists can be difficult if you know your tasks have a habit of changing! Perhaps stick to a weekly one, so at least you know what you need to achieve by the end of the week rather than worrying about day to day. I hope that helps! Thanks for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

