Finding Your Niche

It’s been a couple of months since I hit the blogging bandwagon.

In that time I have had many revelations.

Whilst my blog is centred around PR news, media relations, crisis communications, social channels and student life the essence of blogging is something I’ve always been asked to comment on.

I’ve written about

You get the idea, right?

But only yesterday I was told by a co-worker when she started a blog she just didn’t know what to blog about.

This is a story I hear quite often.

I’ve drawn it down to two reasons people don’t blog (once they have started)

  1. They think they don’t have the time
  2. They don’t know what to post about

The reality is, these people are intelligent, intellectual professionals. Which is what led me to this post on why it is so important to understand the niche of your audience.

I could post every day on news on PR or media relations, but the fact is, more information needs to be available to fellow bloggers on how to get started with a blog or how to choose what to start writing about!

There are endless platforms a person can use to blog

  1. WordPress
  2. Blogger.com
  3. Wix
  4. Tumblr
  5. LinkedIn

That’s just to name a few!

I’m a WordPress girl myself, but it comes with pros and cons (but, that’s a story for another time)

If I could give you all one tip for the future of your blog.

One solidarity piece of wisdom for you to take with and do what you wish it would be to… FIND YOUR NICHE. 

Understand what you want to post about, put it to practice, understand what works, what gets views and why (of course your analytics report helps with all of this)

It’s 2016 – every second person is becoming a self proclaimed blogger so what is going to make YOU different.

I hope you found this motivating for your Monday morning.

I would love to hear what you think please comment below or contact me here
G.

One Reply to “Finding Your Niche”

Leave a Reply

