#FairGoFairfax

Today’s post is going to be a little different to my regular style of post.

This post is about to get very, very serious.

For all my subscribers living outside of Australia, let me bring you up to speed on the current state of the Australian print media landscape.

There are 2 major print publications within Australia. These are the Herald and Weekly Times as well as Fairfax Media.

Earlier this week Fairfax Media announced it will axe 125 editorial jobs in its metropolitan mastheads – a quarter of the editorial workforce in its metro division – as part of $30 million in cost-savings.

Now, what a lot of people don’t understand is why myself as a PR professional is absolutely gutted at these decisions.

The ascendancy of Trump and the rise of “fake news” is a worrying trend. As a reader, I look to Fairfax for independent and fearless reporting. And that means investing in good journalism.

I stand for independent and quality reporting. I stand for Australian jobs and most importantly, I stand with my friends and colleagues who are working every day reporting quality stories within Fairfax Media whose jobs are now under threat.

 

By cutting 125 editorial jobs, you are effectively taking away a quarter of the editorial team.

More specifically, The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald are about to lost 1 in 4 journalists.

As most of you are aware, I am from Melbourne, so for the past 24 years, The Age has been my bread and butter. My bread and butter which I have watched transform over the years, but notably the past 5 years.

They took on board digital, the decreased the size of listings, they rethought how Victorians want to receive weekly vs. weekend content AND they did all this whilst remaining transparent, open and critical to every article.

As a PR professional, I can safely say Fairfax papers have challenged me and my colleges on every pitch, every story and every quote ensuring that the quality of our releases and our content is nothing but the best.

Please I urge you to sign the #FairGoFairfax petition here

Comment your thoughts below.

 

G.

Leave a Reply

