What people don’t tell you about Blogging

So you want to start a blog?

Well, I’ve heard that one before.

Whilst I am all about encouraging and motivating like-minded people to put their ideas and content into something they are passionate about, I must remind you, this is hard work.

I’ve written many posts before on why I first started blogging, what content to write, advice, how to understand SEO and how to read your own analytics, but what people don’t understand is how to stay motivated.

I’m coming up to my very first anniversary with The Media Edit. (I know, so cute isn’t it?)

However, this achievement didn’t happen overnight.

I’m going to have to do something really special for my official anniversary post (please stick around for that, I promise it will be more uplifting).

But since I’ve got your attention now, I do want to set the record straight as to why Blogging is NOT for everyone and the things I wish I knew about blogging before I started this one.

You will become obsessed

I’m sorry to say, but you will.

Every viewer, every subscriber, every comment, every share, every tweet – you will want to know about it.

Now, this isn’t a bad thing, but you will soon question why some posts perform better than others – sometimes this will drive you INSANE.

Check out my 2016 tally on my most popular posts – I’m still trying to figure out why some of my posts were more received than others!

I mean come on, what is it you people want?

Your analytics are you life

Who would have thought data could be so crucial!

Check out how to understand your blog’s analytics here and why peak times to post are literally everything.

 

Motivate yourself

Think about it – why did you decide to start this?

Was it to help you find a job, improve your own writing skill or maybe just for a laugh?

Comment below your thoughts or contact me here

 

G.

Leave a Reply

