Top 5 Ways to Kickstart Your Study Regime

Sometimes I wonder how many hours of my life I have spent studying? The short answer: a lot.

I guess you could say I am quite the ‘seasoned pro’ when it comes to long study sessions.

So without further ado, I have put together a list of the top 5 ways to KICKSTART your study regime.

Maybe your feeling tired or overwhelmed or even just burn out? Here are 5 ways to get back on track

1: Exercise

Move away from your desk. Refresh and reenergize. Start by going for a short 20-minute walk. Use this opportunity to clear your mind, listen to some music or just ‘switch off’

2: Move spaces

How long have you studied in the same environment? Have you ever thought a change of scenery could help? Lots of people study at home, however for some this can be a huge distraction. Try moving to your public library, an office space or even a quiet café to freshen up your space

3: Write a task list

I’ve made previous posts about how I am task list obsessed. The best way to be productive is to prioritise. Think about what needs to get done? What will take the most time? When are your assignments due?

4: Create a balance

Understand that you can’t sit at a desk for 10 hours a day and cram. It’s not possible. Make time for yourself so you can relax.

5: Remove distractions

This is a tricky one but trust me it works. In the time you’ve allocated to study – e.g. 2-hour study blocks for those 2 hours turn off your mobile, log out of Facebook and all social channels on your laptop and just focus on the task at hand. After your 2 hour study period, think of turning on your devices as a reward!

I’d love to hear from anyone else who has implemented something different.

Share your feedback and comment below.

 

G.

One Reply to “Top 5 Ways to Kickstart Your Study Regime”

  1. All on point. I’ve found having a break to exercise or switching to a different location for a change of scenery while I study is really helpful. I’ve recently gotten on board the app train with a neat-o little app called Tide that encourages you to focus for 25 minutes at a time and then have a very short break before getting stuck back into it (something about the Pomodoro technique). I find that one pretty useful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

